17. The Beaching of a White Whale on Fathers Day 2014

Today is Fathers Day 2014 a clear, sunny day that I was looking forward to gather whatever it had to offer me. I found myself standing on the tile floor in my bathroom, which must have been a bit wet. I took a step and found my large almost three hundred pound body being lifted off the floor and landing on my left knee on a very hard surface. At first I thought that I must have smashed my knee cap as I lay face down on my bathroom tile floor. Although my knee was bruised and I felt quite foolish the knee was not smashed. My right arm was resting below a very large mass which made it more difficult to push myself to a standing position. It seems that in order to stand even getting up from a chair I must use my arms to push myself up for the legs do not wish to cooperate. So there I lay like a white whale on the bathroom floor, knowing that there was no one to call for a tow truck to lift me.

As ridiculous and humbling as the situation that I found myself in I found myself thinking of what a whale must think as it found itself in a similar situation beached on some shore line without the aid of some animal rights organization to come to its aid. So there I was a beached white whale laying face down on my bathroom floor and alone. The wonderful Herman Melville tale of Moby Dick came to my mind, although that whale did have an advantage over me for it was in deep ocean water. Its disadvantage was that Captain Ahab had lowered harpooners Tashtego and Daggoo into the water to harpoon Moby Dick. The thought that came to me was that I had better some way or other get off the beach before someone found me mistaking me for a large white whale and perhaps harpooning me.

Image result for Moby Dick

So much as a large whale would do, I slithered my large immobile body off of the tile floor to an area that was covered with carpet. When I remark here that I slithered that is the way that I reached the carpet again much as a whale would have to move it to deeper waters. It took me some twenty minutes to find an object to grab onto to lift myself off of my right arm that was tucked under my body, however, with much effort I did manage to free my arm and use it with the aid of my other arm holding on to an object on the carpet to stand once more.

I made my morning meal, taking it to my little cement porch with my morning cigar and decided to enjoy the day which I am now doing. Thinking of the events of the morning I found myself laughing at the large beached white whale that I had become with no one available to aid me off the beach. I thought of Fathers Day and the love and respect that I had for my father. I also thought of the fact that I would not on this Fathers Day hear from my children and that they were not there to aid the beached whale. I found myself not with a pessimistic feeling at all but grateful that I as a father, whatever the present circumstance might be that I am still able to love my children. So I say to you love them, and children love your fathers, whatever misunderstands may seem to stay in your way for doing so will make each day a more productive and happier day for you even if you may find yourself a beached white whale on a tile floor.

Leave a Reply

